Lois Elaine Franklin, 64, of Magnolia, passed away Monday, Nov. 12, 2012, at her home after a one-year battle with ovarian cancer. She was born July 2, 1948.

She was a retired nurse from Magnolia Regional Medical Center after 20 years of employment. Lois’s love of people extended beyond patient care at the hospital. Thousands of people in Columbia County and the state of Arkansas have benefited from her love of people, unknowingly to them.

Terminally ill children received their last wish because of donations to Make-A-Wish Foundation. Contributions to the benevolent fund at Central Baptist Church benefited school teachers and others, unknowingly to them. Contributions to veterans programs benefited wounded veterans, and families of policemen and firemen who gave their lives in the line of duty benefited. Children were able to participate in Special Olympics because of her contributions. Families and children received food and Christmas gifts because of her generosity and other acts of kindness too numerous to mention. Her goal was to help others and not seek attention for herself.

She was preceded in death by her parents, D.L. and Mary (Napier) Hammons.

Survivors are her husband of 42 years, Gary W. Franklin; daughters, Mary Ellen Green and husband Daniel of Magnolia and Meredith Ann Franklin of Brooklyn, N.Y.; son, Scott Franklin and wife Staci of Little Rock; two sisters, Evelyn Taylor and husband Charles of Dubach, La., and Nancy Gay of Ruston, La.; two brothers, Luther Hammons of Clay, La., and Jimmy Hammons and wife Linda Kay of Dubach; and two grandchildren, Braden and Makenzie Green of Magnolia.

Visitation with the family will be from 6:30-8:30 p.m. today at Lewis Funeral Home in Magnolia.

Funeral services will be at 10 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 15, at Central Baptist Church in Magnolia. Burial will follow at Mineral Springs Baptist Church Cemetery near Dubach.

In lieu of flowers, memorials may be made to the Magnolia Regional Medical Center Foundation, P.O. Box 629, Magnolia, AR 71754-0629.

Pallbearers will be Jim Ball, Darrell Chatelain, Perry Jett, Gene McPherson, Darrell Adams, and Doug Miller.


Published: 11/14/2012