Bell named to Board of Directors

Columbia County Clerk Sherry Bell is the newest member of the Executive Board of the Association of Arkansas Counties. She succeeds Doris Tate of Sebastian County, who retired at the end of 2010.

Bell, starting her seventh term as County Clerk, already advocates for more efficient county government in a variety of roles: She is president of the Arkansas County Clerks Association; serves on a County Financial Code Review work group with the Bureau of Legislative Audit; is a Certified Volunteer Manager; and serves by re-appointment to the Arkansas Division of Volunteerism Advisory Council. She is also very active in community events.

“Sherry has shown great leadership in her various roles. She cares deeply for county government, always interested in ways to make it better for our citizens, and I look forward to working with her in this capacity,” said Chris Villines, executive director for AAC.

Both the Association of Arkansas Counties and its individual associations work to exchange ideas and experiences and work together to solve mutual problems as a unified group, while providing information, training and continuing in the latest and most efficient methods.

Members also work together to propose or endorse practical legislation to enable them to better execute their duties and, consequently, to better serve the taxpayers of Arkansas, Bell said.

“I am deeply honored to represent one of the two positions held by County Clerks that serve on the AAC Executive Board. I appreciate the opportunity to collaborate with fellow county elected officials and the Association of Arkansas Counties director and staff,” Bell said. “I will work eagerly and effectively to meet the varied needs of all the associations, to promote the betterment in county government and the citizens we serve daily.”

AAC represents all nine areas of county and district government; its executive board is composed of 17 members representing those nine offices: County judges, sheriffs, collectors, assessors, treasurers, county and circuit clerks, coroners, and quorum court justices of the peace. Members of Arkansas’s quorum courts are classified as district, rather than county, officials.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>